Lolita Liseth Cueva Zepeda, mentee in the 2020-21 program in VIC (RMIT University).

My name is Lolita Liseth Cueva Zepeda, but people call me Lolita Cueva. I am 26 years old and was born in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. I graduated from the bachelor’s degree in Chemical Engineering at ITESO, Mexico in December 2016. I have good communication skills in Spanish, English and French.

During my bachelor’s, I had the opportunity to work as a research assistant in CINVESTAV, Mexico, developing sustainability studies to produce ethanol by agro-industrial wastes (mainly wheat straw). Throughout these years I have developed my skills and knowledge in Sustainable Energies, Biofuels, and Process Engineering.

This experience motivated me to pursue a postgraduate study and continue preparing myself on these related topics. I initiated studying in RMIT as a Masters student, however, I decided to upgrade to Ph.D., aiming to expand the scope of my project, which concerns the production of bio slurries derived from biomass (rice straw) to produce energy, by evaluating its viability and potential application. Char-water-slurries created with biochar or charcoal derived from biomass pyrolysis (combustion in the absence of air), are an attractive alternative as they do not compete with the food supply, are a safe and environmentally friendly technology.

I consider myself a disciplined, responsible, and active person with a positive attitude and always willing to learn and improve. I enjoy working in teams, sharing my ideas as a leader, or as part of a team. RMIT has allowed me to develop valuable skills in the research field, expanding my communication, professional, and personal skills in a way I never imagined. I have never worked in the industry sector; therefore, I consider that this opportunity will add tremendously to my integral development and diversify my competencies as an engineer.

My professional interests include Biofuels, and Optimization, Thermochemical Conversion Processes, and Sustainable and Process Engineering. I am also interested in learning about project management, as I consider having good leading and communication skills.

I love traveling, socializing (I speak three languages, and I am currently learning Portuguese). I enjoy outdoor activities and sports; I have practiced swimming in a professional team in Mexico. As well, I also enjoy the arts; dancing, singing, play violin, and piano in my free time.

You can find Lolita on: